Osceola Business Association

2011 Bluegrass Festival King & Queen

Austin Slabaugh and Brooklyne Mangualubrey


What Osceola means to me!

Every spring, fourth graders at our town school, Moran Elementary, write essays to enter the Osceola Bluegrass Festival King and Queen Contest.  The essays must be presented to their teacher by the end of the year with a “Good Citizen” recommendation from a Moran School employee and a signed parent permission form. 

Qualifying applicants must agree to be made available for recognition during the festival opening ceremonies at 10:00am Saturday morning, at which time; we select our festival King and Queen.

They reign over the festival all day Saturday and Sunday, and are recognized on stage 3-4 times each day.  Every food vendor provides gift certificates to keep our King and Queen well fed during the festival.  In addition, they are presented with a shopping bag of goodies from the business community.  The value of each bag usually exceeds $200.

Our King and Queen have royal duties throughout their one-year term.  In September, they are recognized at an Osceola Town Board Meeting.  They ride the Fire Truck into Osceola with Santa Claus for the Christmas Tree Lighting Ceremony.  They are presented a plaque at a Moran School awards assembly.  In May, they ride a float in the Memorial Day Parade.  In the spring, they become our best ambassadors in encouraging fourth graders to enter the King-Queen Contest.  Their royal duties end where they began.

On stage at the opening ceremonies of the Bluegrass Festival, helping us crown a new King and Queen.

The responsibilities and duties are extensive, so we expect applicants and families to commit to making themselves available to fulfill their royal schedule.

 Application Instructions   

Former Kings & Queens

1993    Peter Wolfe and  ?

1994    No King and Jackie Stinebeck

 1995    Aaron Franklin and Crystal Benneker

1999    Cory Bernhart and Tiffany Huffman

2000    Adam Borsodi and Kaleigh Sailer

2001    Brandon Reeves and Genna Robinson

2002    Jacob Stephens and Hope Dye

2003    Chris Warner and Lindsay Penn

 2004    Dylan Talcott and Krystal Hill w/ Catherine Stinebeck

 2005    Zach Purser and Taylor Silveus

2006   Austin Fyffe and Savannah Hop

2007 John Brenneman and Jessica Joyner

2008   Haley Makowski and Jordan Demske

2009 Joe Musser and Madelyn "Maddy" Wiseman

2010 Aubrey Saros and Brandon Tochman

Home | Membership | Community |   Bluegrass Festival | Memorial Day Parade | Tree Ceremony | Our Members | Links | Scholarship | Contact